50th Kerala State Film Awards Winners: Suraj Venjaramoodu, Kani Kusurthi and Lijo Jose Pellissery win big – Times of India


The 50th Kerala State Film Awards, which was delayed due to the pandemic lockdown, was announced on Tuesday by Cultural minister AK Balan and it packed a lot of surprises, considering a record number of films that were screened for the jury this year. The top honours were clinched by Suraj Venjaramoodu (Best Actor), Kani Kusurthi (Best Actress), Lijo Jose Pellissery (Best Director), Fahadh Faasil and Swasika Vijay (Best Supporting Actors). Vasanthi (directed by Rahman brothers) was adjudged the Best Film.

With the pandemic delaying the announcement of this year’s State Awards, a total number of 119 films were screened including many unreleased movies such as Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham and films made on massive as well shoe-string budgets. This year’s jury was headed by noted cinematographer Madhu Ambattu. Directors Salim Ahmed, Abrid Shine, cinematographer Vipin Mohan, actress Jomol, editor L Bhoominathan and writer Benyamin were also among the jury members who had done the screening following all Covid-19 protocols.

This year’s list had a healthy mix of movies helmed by experienced directors as well as relatively new directors such as Madhu C Narayanan’s Kumbalangi Nights, Ratheesh Balakrishnan Poduval’s Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25, Mathukutty Xavier’s Helen, Manu Ashokan’s Uyare, Gireesh AD’s Thaneermathan Dinangal and PR Arun’s Finals. In fact,71 movies were helmed by debutants. Several internationally acclaimed movies too were in contention including Lijo Jose Pellissery’s Jalikettu and Sajin Baabu’s Biriyani.


The actors list too saw veteran artistes such as Mammootty (Unda, Mamangam) and Mohanlal (Lucifer, Marakkar) vying with Asif Ali, Shane Nigam, Suraj Venjaramoodu and Nivin Pauly for the Best Actor (Male) award while Manju Warrier, Parvathy, Anna Ben and Kani Kusurthi were the frontrunners for the Best Actor (Female) honour.

These are the winners of Kerala State Film Awards 2020:

Best Film – Vasanthi

Best Second Film – Kenjira

Best Director – Lijo Jose Pellissery (Jallikettu)

Best Actor – Suraj Venjaramoodu (Android Kunjappan, Vikurthi)

Best Actress – Kani Kuruthi (Biriyaani)

Best Supporting Actor – Fahadh Faasil (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Supporting Actress – Swasika Vijay (Vasanthi)

Best Composer -Sushin Shyam (Kumbalangi Nights)

Best Script – PS Rafique (Thottappan)

Best Screenplay – Shahul Aliyar (Vasanthi)

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Najeem Arshad

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Madhushree Narayanan

Best Cinematography – Pratap V Nair

Best Art Director – Jyothish

Best Sync Sound – Madhavan Nair

Best Popular Film – Kumbalangi Nights

Best Debutant Director – Ratheesh Poduval (Android Kunjappan Ver 5.25)

Jury Award for Best VFX – Sidharth Priyadarshan (Marakkar: Arabikdalinte Simham)

Jury Mention – Music director – V Dakshinamoorthy (Shyamaraagam)

Jury Mention – Actor – Nivin Pauly (Moothon)

Jury Mention – Actor – Anna Ben (Helen)

Jury Mention – Actor – Priyamvada Krishnan (Thottappan)

Source link